TXST Journalism Students are 2024-25 Headliners Foundation Scholarship Recipients

June 10, 2024

Headshot for AnneBelle Elliot

AnnaBelle Elliot

Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists

Lucciana Chouiery Headshot

Lucciana Chouiery

Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists

Jacquelyn Burrer Headshot

Jacquelyn Burrer

Headliners Founders’ Scholarship Recipient

The Headliners Foundation of Texas has announced the recipients of over $100,000 in scholarships for the 2024-2025 academic year, recognizing 22 outstanding undergraduate journalism students from various institutions across the state. Among the recipients, students from Texas State's School of Journalism and Mass Communication have notably excelled, highlighting the university's commitment to fostering journalistic talent.

This year's scholarships, which range from $3,000 to $6,000 each, were awarded to students who have demonstrated exceptional academic records, writing abilities, and a strong dedication to journalism. Many recipients have gained valuable experience working with student media or as interns with professional media outlets.

Three Texas State University students were honored with prestigious scholarships:

  • Jacquelyn Burrer: Headliners Founders’ Scholarship
  • Lucciana Choueiry: Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists
  • Anastasia (Anabelle) Elliott: Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists

The Founder’s Scholarships commemorate the contributions of early benefactors of the Headliners Foundation, whose support has been vital to the scholarship program. 

“The Foundation’s application process is extremely competitive, and this year’s scholarship recipients are doing an outstanding job of telling important stories in innovative ways,” said Patti C. Smith, Chair of the Foundation’s Academic Excellence Committee and a retired broadcast media executive. “Awarding scholarships to Texas’ best student journalists is an important part of our core mission, and we are proud to provide more funding for scholarships this year than ever before,” added Patti Ohlendorf, Chair of the Foundation’s Board of Governors.

For more information about the Foundation’s scholarships and to learn about the distinguished namesakes, visit Headliners Foundation Scholarships.