TXST PR Student Awarded 2024 Julie Tereshchuk Scholarship

Saliyah Parker

Photo credit: UT-Austin's Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life

We are proud to announce that Saliyah M. Parker, a dedicated student at Texas State University, has been awarded the prestigious Julie Tereshchuk Need-Based Scholarship by Women Communicators of Austin (WCA). This $5,000 scholarship is awarded annually to one deserving applicant, honoring the legacy of Julie Tereshchuk, a beloved and active member of WCA.

Parker, originally from Louisiana, has been residing in the Austin area since 2018. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Public Relations with a minor in Leadership Studies at TXST. In addition to her academic pursuits, Saliyah is actively involved in various student organizations. She is a member of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and Bobcat Promotions, TXST's student-led PR firm. She also serves as a Texas Civic Ambassador with UT-Austin's Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life. Recently, she became a student member of WCA, an organization dedicated to fostering connections among Austin's communicators to accelerate careers, develop leaders, and build lasting friendships.

Saliyah’s collegiate passions and career aspirations are focused on crisis communications and reputation management. She continuously seeks valuable learning opportunities and is dedicated to developing herself as a future PR professional.

About the Julie Tereshchuk scholarship

The Julie Tereshchuk Need-Based Scholarship honors Julie Tereshchuk, who was a devoted member of Women Communicators of Austin for two decades. Julie served on the WCA Board of Directors in 2009 and was president from 2011 to 2012. Known for her passion for uplifting women and supporting future generations of women communicators, Julie generously donated to the Jo Caldwell Meyer Scholarship fund and served as a mentor in WCA’s mentor program. She was also the author of the "Ask A Mentor" blog for many years. Julie’s dedication to WCA was recognized through several honors, including the President’s Award in 2004, the Gladys Whitney Hearst Outstanding Member Award in 2007, and the Leadership Award in 2015.